Upcoming Events

April 10, 2014
2014 KCA Regional Mine Rescue Skills Contest,(Experience teams only)
KY Coal Academy
Madisonville, KY
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Danny B. Knott:
    270-824-1774
    dknott0001@kctcs.edu
April 15 - 17, 2014
Midwest Regional MNM Mine Rescue Contest
Local 150 Training Site
Wilmington, IL
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Jason Schlee:
    630-816-7571
    schleej@vmcmail.com
  • Brian Washkowiak:
    815-878-9340
    brian.washkowiak@lafarge-na.com
April 21 - 25, 2014
MTTC Pennsylvania Regional Mine Rescue Skills Contest
Ruff Creek, PA
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Marlon Whoolery:
    724-627-6259 or 724-322-0169
    mttcmarlon@yahoo.com
  • Mike Reese:
    724-627-6259
    mttcmr@yahoo.com
April 22 - 24, 2014
Southwestern Regional Mine Rescue Competition
Carlsbad, NM
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Richard West:
    575-234-8178 or 575-200-7868
    Richard.West@wipp.ws
April 22 - 24, 2014
Colorado Mine Rescue Association - Four Corners Mine Rescue, First Aid, and Bench Contest
Farmington, NM
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • LaVon L. Turpin:
    970-929-2260
    lturpin@archcoal.com
  • Darrell Wynas:
    505-598-2035
  • Basil Bear:
    970-929-5258
May 6 - 8, 2014
Southern Regional Mine Rescue Competition
New Iberia, Louisiana
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Henry Charpentier:
    337-867-2114
    hcharpentier@mortonsalt.com
May 7 - 8, 2014
OMSL Mine Rescue Competition (KY State Teams Only)
Jenny Wiley State Park
Prestonsburg, KY
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Ronnie Drake:
    270-824-7523
    Ronnie.Drake@Ky.gov
May 8, 2014
Tennessee Region Mine Rescue Contest
Department of Labor
Caryville, Tennessee
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Oscar Frederick:
    423-566-9709
    Oscar.Frederick@tn.gov
May 9 - 10, 2014
Smokeaters Post 2 Bench (BG-4 & BioPak) Contest
Lexington, KY
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Lewis McCoy:
    412-418-0612
    lsm@csecorporation.com
May 12 - 16, 2014
West Virginia Alliance/Beckley National Mine Rescue Skills Competition
Beckley, WV
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Darren Blankenship:
    304-673-7520
    darrenblankenship@suddenlink.net
May 15 - 17, 2014
Central Mine Rescue Contest
Kellogg, Idaho
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Danny Peterson:
    208-556-2225
    cmrescue@cebridge.net
May 20 - 22, 2014
Colorado MNM Mine Rescue Contest
Jefferson County Fairgrounds
Lakewood, CO
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Bill York-Feirn:
    303-866-3567 ext. 8151
    bill.york-feirn@state.co.us
  • Albert Archuleta:
    303-569-3221 ext. 1358
    albert_archuleta@fmi.com
May 20 - 22, 2014
State of Alabama Mine Rescue 2 Day Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench (BG-4 & 240R) and Preshift Contest
Bevill State Community College
Sumiton, AL
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Patty Tice:
    205-871-3734
    patty@alcoal.com
May 21 - 22, 2014
Western Kentucky Mining Institute Safety Days Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench (BG—4, BioPak 240-R & S) and Preshift Contest
Madisonville, KY
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Kevin Vaughn:
    270-389-6700 ext. 6723
    Kevin.vaughn@arlp.com
May 21 - 22, 2014
Governor’s Cup Mine Rescue Contest
Wise, VA
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Chris Whitt:
    276-523-9693
    chris.whitt@dmme.virginia.gov
May 31, 2014
Welch Post 1 Mine Rescue Contest
Bluefield State College
Bluefield, WV
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Mike Plumley:
    304-960-0340
    Michael.plumley@brickstreet.com
June 3 - 5, 2014
Tri-State Post #6 Ohio Valley Mine Rescue, Bench, Pre-Shift, & First Aid Contest
TBD, OH
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Ron Glasgow:
    614-357-4670
    Ronald.glasgow@dnr.state.oh.us
June 4 & 5, 2014
Indiana State Mine Rescue, Bench (BioPak) and Preshift Contest
Vincennes, IN
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Ruth Messel:
    812-881-9315
    rmessel@peabodyenergy.com
June 10 & 11, 2014
2014 Mine Rescue Skills Competition
Southeastern Illinois College
Harrisburg, IL
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Karen Weiss:
    618-252-5400 ext. 2300
    karen.weiss@sic.edu
June 10 - 12, 2014
Southwestern Wyoming Mutual Aid Mine Rescue Contest
Sweetwater County Events Complex
Rock Springs, WY
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Gary Gomez:
    307-872-7252
    ggomez@ocichemical.com
  • Dave Stevenson:
    307-872-6563
    dave.stevenson@solvay.com
  • Cindy Phillips:
    307-371-3258
    cphillips3@dxpe.com
June 17 - 19, 2014
Kentucky River Mine Rescue (2 Day), First Aid, Bench (BG-4 & BioPak) and Preshift Contest
Hazard, KY
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Pauletta Smith:
    606-436-0533
June 17 - 19, 2014
Rocky Mountain Association Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench (BG-4 & BioPak) and Preshift
Price, UT
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Larry Olsen:
    435-448-2630
    Lolsen@bowieresources.com
June 17 - 19, 2014
Northern Mine Rescue Contest
Peek ‘n Peak Resort and Conference Center in
Findley Lake, NY
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Stephen Allenson :
    216-357-4613
    steve_allenson@cargill.com
June 24 - 26, 2014
Annual Southeast Region Mine Rescue Competition
North Georgia Trade & Convention Center
Dalton, GA
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • David Tant:
    706-459-7739
    david.tant@carmeusena.com
July 15 - 17, 2014
Hatfield & McCoy Mine Safety Competition
Pikeville, KY
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Mike Elswick:
    606-433-7742
  • Sean Cochran:
    606-794-4231
July 15 - 17, 2014
Colorado Mine Rescue Association Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench (BG-4 and BioPak) and Preshift Contest
Delta, CO
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • LaVon L. Turpin:
    970-929-2260
    lturpin@archcoal.com
  • Darrell Wynas:
    505-598-2035
  • Basil Bear:
    970-929-5258
July 22 - 24, 2014
Harlan County Safety Day Mine Rescue (2 Day), Bench, First Aid and Preshift Contest
Southeast KY Community & Technical College
Cumberland, KY
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Suzie Williams or Tracy Bailey:
    606-589-5812
    tricitychamber@windstream.net
August 4 - 7, 2014
Virginia Mining Institute’s Safety Day – Mine Rescue (2 Day), First Aid, Bench (BG-4) and Preshift Contest
Blacksburg, VA
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Christy Viers:
    276-596-2000
    cviers@alphanr.com
  • Wayne Davis:
    276-415-9650
    wayne.davis@dmme.virginia.gov
August 4 - 7, 2014
2014 National MNM Mine Rescue Contest
Lexington Convention Center
Lexington, KY
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Harriet Blythe:
    859-472-8122
    harriet.blythe@carmeusena.com
August 12 - 14, 2014
NMRA Post 5 Mine Rescue (2 Day), First Aid, Bench & Preshift Contest
Morgantown, WV
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Larry A. Moore:
    304-592-1409 or 304-376-3848
    Lmoore1950@gmail.com
  • Tina McKenzie:
    301-387-8295
August 19 - 21, 2014
Pennsylvania State Mine Rescue, First Aid, Bench and Preshift Contest
Carmichaels, PA
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Diane Elias:
    724-439-7469
    delias@pa.gov
August 20 - 22, 2014
Kentucky Mining Institute (2 Days), Bench, Preshift and MET Contest and Kentucky Mining Institute
Lexington, KY
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Geaunita Caylor:
    859-257-2820
    g.caylor@uky.edu
August 25 - 28, 2014
Southern West Virginia Mine Rescue Association Mine Rescue (2 Day – 2 Problems), First Aid, Bench & Preshift Contest
Beckley, WV
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Polly Kalich:
    703-722-3513
    swvmra@gmail.com
  • Mike Plumley:
    304-960-0340
    swvmra@gmail.com
September 10, 2014
Illinois State Mine Rescue & Bench Contest
Marion Pavilion & Convention Center
Marion, IL
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Michael D. Rennie:
    618-439-4355
September 24 & 25, 2014
Missouri Regional Mine Rescue Contest
Rolla, Missouri
(Metal/Nonmetal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Jim Taylor:
    573-341-6406
    jtaylor@mst.edu or phelpscd@mst.edu
October 6 - 10, 2014
Harlan County Safety Day Mine Rescue (2 Day), Bench, First Aid and Preshift Contest
Ruff Creek, PA
(Coal Mine Rescue)
Contact Information
  • Marlon Whoolery:
    724-322-0169
    mttcmarlon@yahoo.com
  • Mike Reese:
    724-627-6259
    mttcmr@yahoo.com
  • Don King:
    304-890-6807
    tdking@frontiernet.net